By | June 15, 2011

Shahid Imran of Pakistan Army wins Gold in 30-kilometre time trial – National Junior Cycling 2011

Shahid Imran of Pakistan Army won Gold in the 30-kilometre time trial at the Pakistan National Junior Cycling championships 2011 on Wednesday.

The three-day National Junior Cycling event in Pakistan saw a firm hold of the Pakistan Army riders as they came on top on the second day of the event. They won all the three Gold medals at stake in the provincial capital of Lahore. The events took place at the Abdullah Interchange of the Lahore Ring Road.

It was one of the toughest challenges for the riders to race under testing weather conditions yet the Army men emerged as winners of three events with utter confidence.

The Army men took an early lead on the first day winning two Gold medals and continued their supremacy with a higher level of performance to overcome the contenders in every form of the event.

The continuity of the form from the past two days would be the key to their ultimate success and emergence as the champions of the event.

The first of the challenges was the 30-kilometre individual time-trial where Shahid Imran led his team to success. Shahid crossed the finish line with an overall time of 37 minutes and 54.31 seconds, ahead of Abid from Sindh who was two minutes behind him.

Abid managed to mark a personal best of 38 minutes and 52.86 seconds to finish second while another Punjab based rider Zahid Iqbal managed to claw on to the final position of the podium with final time of 39 minutes and 25.87 seconds.

Besides the most strenuous event of the day, the Army squad gained their second Gold aided by the 25-kilometer team time trial finishing in overall 36 minutes and 10.59 seconds. They had a two-minute lead over the nearest rivals, the Punjab team, who clocked at 38 minutes and 12.84 seconds for the seconds place. Pakistan Railways came third with a time of 38 minutes and 50.51 seconds.

The Army team won the third Gold in the four-kilometer team pursuit finishing in 5 minutes and 16.08 seconds. The Punjab team finished second once again following the Army team as they crossed the finish line in 5 minutes and 29.94 seconds. Pakistan Railways finished a narrow third with an overall time of 6 minutes and 1.30 seconds.

Pakistan Army’s individual as well as team riding skills and technique were commendable which helped them overcome the stern weather conditions and strong opposition with ease.

The closing ceremony will be held at the Lahore Ring Road on Thursday, May 12, 2011 and the awards will be given by Provincial Minister for Education, Mian Mujtaba Shuja-ur-Rehman as the Chief Guest at the event.


Add a Facebook Comment

Leave Your Comment

Your email will not be published or shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.